The governing body has a wide range of duties and responsibilities with regard to the strategic direction and management of the school. Governors have to make decisions on how the budget available to the school is used, on the appointment of staff and on many other important issues. They have meetings at least once a term, with committees and working groups coming together more frequently. Governors take an active interest in what is taught and in the quality of teaching and learning, monitoring, evaluating and improving the work of the school through joint staff/governor teams.


For more information on the roles and responsibilities of the Governing Body, click here

For more information on our Governors Register of Interests, click here

For more information on our Committee Membership 2019-20, click here

For our Governors Annual Statement, click here


Beverley School Governing Body

Mrs Helen Murphy

Chair (Parent Governor)

Mrs Chloe Hoggard

Parent Governor

Mrs Jill Fidan

Local Authority Governor

Mrs Mary Nugent

Co-Opted Governor

Mr Steve Wilks

Co-Opted Governor 

Mrs Claire Druery

Co-Opted Governor


Local Authority Governor

Mr John Lees

Co-Opted Governor

Mrs Catherine Davidson

Co-Opted Governor 

Mrs Maria Bache

Co-Opted Governor

Mrs Joanne Smith

Head Teacher

Mrs Kylie Reay

Staff Governor

Mrs Jane May


Mrs A McPartland


      The Chair of Governors (Mrs Helen Murphy) can be contacted in writing via:

Beverley School, Saltersgill Avenue, Middlesbrough TS4 3JS

Tel: 01642 811 350